On the Road This Summer and Fall

The Young Center for Anabaptist and Pietist Studies at Elizabethtown College

The Young Center for Anabaptist and Pietist Studies at Elizabethtown College

It’s shaping up to be a busy summer and fall 2014 here at The Search for Piety and Obedience. In addition to working to transform my master’s thesis into a article suitable for publication in an academic journal, I’ve managed to fit in a few speaking engagements and conferences as well.

Already this summer I’ve . . .

May 15, 2014: . . . visited the Young Center for Anabaptist and Pietist Studies at Elizabethtown College, where I spoke to a class about the history and theology of the Brethren in Christ/River Brethren. (You can read my recap of this visit here.)

June 20, 2014: . . . and traveled to the University of Pennsylvania to attend PhillyDH@Penn, an “unconference” for archivists, public historians, academics, and others interested in the intersection of history and digital humanities. As expected, the conference gave me plenty to think about as I try to develop new projects like Born Again Brethren, a web-based exhibit I built to document the interactions between the Brethren in Christ and American Evangelicals.

Here’s what’s coming in the next weeks and months:

Lancaster Mennonite School, the site of the 2014 Brethren in Christ General Conference

Lancaster Mennonite School, the site of the 2014 Brethren in Christ General Conference

July 11-14, 2014: I’ll be at the Brethren in Christ Church U.S.’s General Conference in Lancaster, Pa. Be sure to stop by the Sider Institute luncheon on Monday, July 14 at noon (location TBD). We’ll be brainstorming future Institute study conferences and topics that ought to be covered at those events. I’ll also be tweeting the conference @devinmzt and @BIChistory, using the hashtags #bicconf14 and #bichistorymatters

July 21-23, 2014: I’ll fly across the country to attend the Digital Directions 2014 conference at the Northeast Document Conservation Center in Portland, OR. For three days I’ll network and learn alongside other archival professionals interested in creating and managing digital collections. (As an aside, I’ll also be taking several days of much-needed vacation after the conference, exploring the Pacific Northwest with my wife Katie!)

August 11-14, 2014: I’ll be in Wheaton, IL, doing research at the Billy Graham Center Archives on the life and ministry of Samuel F. Wolgemuth, a mid-twentieth century Brethren in Christ minister and bishop who later became president of Youth for Christ, an Evangelical para-church organization. (Faithful readers will remember a similar research trip I took last summer.) I’m hoping to get lots of work done while in Wheaton, since I likely won’t be able to make another such research trip for a few years.

August 15-16, 2014: From Wheaton, I’ll zip over to Goshen, IN, to participate in a meeting of the Bearing Witness Stories Project steering committee. The Bearing Witness project seeks to update the Anabaptist classic Martyr’s Mirror by collecting stories of “costly discipleship” from Anabaptist communities around the world. I represent the Brethren in Christ Church on the committee, and have been working diligently to research and prepare a few short stories to contribute to the Bearing Witness website. (A future post will focus more on this project.)

The campus of Pepperdine University in Malibu, California

The campus of Pepperdine University in Malibu, California

September 25-27, 2014: I’ll fly to the campus of Pepperdine University in Malibu, Calif., for the biennial gathering of the Conference on Faith and History. (Faithful readers will remember that I gave a a presentation at the 2012 CFH on my “Born-Again Brethren in Christ” project.) This year, I’ll be joining an august panel — including Bethel University historian Chris “Pietist Schoolman” Gehrz, Grace College administrator Mark M. Norris, and Houghton College President Shirley Mullen — to discuss “The Historian’s Role in Managing Institutional Change.” Chris has already written a bit about this panel at his blog. I’m looking forward to taking part and contributing whatever modest bit I can to this staggering topic.

October 4, 2014: I’ll be at the annual meeting of the Brethren in Christ Historical Society to participate in the release of a new book of Brethren in Christ biographies, including one I wrote about Luke and Doris Keefer. Looking forward to seeing this book finally in print!

I have a few other pending engagements lined up for October — but after that I’ll be calling it quits for a bit, as Katie and I plan to welcome our first child into the world in late October.

It’s shaping up to be a busy, but exciting, summer and fall. Stay tuned for updates!

About Devin Manzullo-Thomas

Father to Lucas. Husband to Katie. Prof and administrator at Messiah College. PhD student at Temple University. Member of Grantham BIC.
This entry was posted in Events and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On the Road This Summer and Fall

  1. Doneen Dourte says:

    How about your August 9 engagement at Elizabethtown BIC? I didn’t see that listed on your busy itinerary. Looking forward to hearing what you have to share.

    • Devin Manzullo-Thomas says:

      Hi Doneen: You’re right — I was scheduled to be with you at the Etown BIC Church on August 10. Unfortunately, because my Goshen College trip was rescheduled, I also had to reschedule my trip to Wheaton College and now I’ll be traveling on August 10 — which means I can’t be in Etown as previously intended. I hope to be with your congregation on a future date!

Leave a Reply

