Remembering Harold H. Engle (1917-2013)

harold-engle

Harold H. Engle

The Brethren in Christ Church lost a dedicated churchman and lay leader with the passing of Dr. Harold H. Engle on December 20.

Read his obituary.

Engle — or “Doc” as he was affectionately known to many — served for many years on the Messiah College Board of Trustees, acting as chair for many years. He also gave quite generously to the Sider Institute for Anabaptist, Pietist and Weslyan Studies, establishing the Wittlinger Endowment to fund programs like the Wittlinger Chapel Series and the Wittlinger Scholars Program.

At the denominational level, he was also active for many years on the Brethren in Christ’s Board for Christian Education and Board for World Missions. He was a long-time member of the Palmyra Brethren in Christ Church, where he served in Christian education and as a deacon.

I had the pleasure of meeting Dr. Engle only once, while volunteering at Messiah Village (his retirement home for many years) as a student at Messiah College. I remember him as being friendly and talkative.

The Search for Piety and Obedience mourns the loss of this great servant of the Brethren in Christ Church.

About Devin Manzullo-Thomas

Father to Lucas. Husband to Katie. Prof and administrator at Messiah College. PhD student at Temple University. Member of Grantham BIC.
This entry was posted in Links and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Remembering Harold H. Engle (1917-2013)

  1. I know my interaction with Dr. Engle is mirrored many times over. He was the family doctor to my husband’s family: when my husband was born, Dr. Engle was the doctor who delivered him. Dr. Engle cared for my husband as a child and as an adult. When my husband and I married, and had our first child, our son, Dr. Engle was our family doctor and our son’s first doctor.
    Dr. Engle was also very helpful for my parents–my father was pastor at Fairland BinC church, and my mother went to work for Dr. Engle as office adminstrator. Putting her amazing organizational skills to work, she helped Dr. Engle’s practice by systematizing their insurance processing in the early days of such reimbursement. That job was a god-send for her and my father–helping to provide an additional income stream.

  2. Karen Deyhle says:

    I was saddened to hear of the passing of Doc Engle. I did not personally know him during most of my life, but had heard a lot about him and saw him during my student years at Messiah College and at places like General Conference. I knew that my parents greatly appreciated him and enjoyed his friendship. It was only during the past couple of years that I got to know him. Visiting my father once a week at the Village, we would go to visit Doc Engle in his room. Being his gracious self, he would warmly welcome us and have us sit down for a nice chat. We would discuss a wide variety of topics, including church policies, BIC history, world travels, mission experiences and current things going on at the Village. He always had lots of questions as well as his interesting comments. I enjoyed our visits as much as he did. I am in India now, so I could not attend his funeral. When I return to PA in the spring, I will miss our visits with Doc Engle.

  3. Miriam Hock says:

    When my husband and I were the pastoral couple at Fairland Brethren in Christ Church in the early sixties, Dr. Engle was our family doctor and delivered our three daughters. When our oldest daughter had complications associated with measles, Dr. Engle made a house call (a practice nearly unheard of these days), and fairly unusual even then. We remember him with fondness and great respect. He was everything a Christian doctor ought to be!

Leave a Reply

