A Successful Defense

On Friday, I successfully defended my master’s thesis, “Born-Again Brethren: History as Identity and Theology in the Cultural Transformation of a ‘Plain People.'” (The final product was a bit different than the project I’d been anticipating writing since last year, but I’m very pleased with the results nonetheless.) This is one of the last steps in completing my master’s degree in history at Temple University.

Thanks to the readers of The Search for Piety and Obedience for their support of my project — from responding to blog posts related to the thesis’ themes, to viewing and reviewing the web exhibit related to the thesis. I am very grateful to all of you!

Stay tuned for more info about my future plans for the thesis.

About Devin Manzullo-Thomas

Father to Lucas. Husband to Katie. Prof and administrator at Messiah College. PhD student at Temple University. Member of Grantham BIC.
This entry was posted in Announcements, Essays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A Successful Defense

  1. Hurray for you, Devin. What’s next? Are going directly into a Ph.D. program there at Temple? I am grateful that you’ve stayed a true, blue BIC. We need upcoming scholar/leaders like you.

  2. Emerson Lesher says:

    Way to go Devin!!!!! I knew you would do an outstanding job. Thank you for pursuring your MA —- and I certainly hope you go for the PhD! You are a gift to the BiC Church and the wider Christian community. Thank you for dedicating your many skills and abilities to understanding who we are and where we should go! You are a great gift to us. —- Hope you take some time to celebrate! –

  3. Karen D says:

    Since in recent years, you sort of come from my HbgBIC congregation, I think I can feel a sense of pride in your accomplishment! You reflect well on us. I am grateful that you are doing study on the church during the decades when I was being nurtured, formed and taught by the Brethren In Christ. In the 50’s I was part of the Clarence Center congregation, then in the 60’s when I lived in Toronto, it was the Bridlewood congregation. I feel blessed.

  4. Elaine Reed says:

    Congratulations!!! Good work!

  5. Beth Mark says:

    Congratulations & thanks for putting your scholarly efforts into BIC history. Will you be making the thesis available? Or maybe I missed a link somewhere. I know you will make it available in the Archives!

  6. dorothy gish says:

    Way to go…we’re all proud of you. Flexibility and adaptation are appropriate responses – in fact they evidence learning AND they are both traits which contribute to successful aging.

  7. ken Fretz says:

    Congratulations, Devin: Have been inspired by your submissions, Hope that you continue with them, regardless of which road you choose to travel. All the best to you.

  8. Pingback: Master’s Thesis Now Available Online | The Search for Piety and Obedience

  9. Pingback: Follow Me as I Write About “Born-Again Brethren in Christ” | The Search for Piety and Obedience

Leave a Reply

