Happy Thanksgiving!

Whenever I think of giving thanks, I think of the traditional Brethren in Christ love feast — a beautiful, tangible expression of a Christian community’s gratitude to God for physical and spiritual sustenance, continual blessings, and the fellowship of believers. Today, I’m grateful for all those things in my own life.

I’m also grateful for the readers of this blog, who make this project continually enriching and exciting. Thanks for all you do to contribute to this vital online community.

Happy Thanksgiving!

About Devin Manzullo-Thomas

Father to Lucas. Husband to Katie. Prof and administrator at Messiah College. PhD student at Temple University. Member of Grantham BIC.
This entry was posted in Announcements and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. Donna Wenger says:

    Where was the photo taken?
    Most interesting, to use the church pew benches as tables.

  2. Karen D says:

    I studied this interesting food trough for a while, then noticed too that they are leaning over one pew to reach down to the food.

    I was looking also at the coverings…the stiff opaque fabric, large dimensions and black ribbon (not actually tied, but tucked loosely in the front) would date them to a specific time period. One woman is wearing her full black bonnet over her covering. Perhaps the bonnet shelf was over full that day, due to the size of the gathering. And I noted that the women’s hair, what little of it that was allowed to show, is parted on the side. This was, of course, a big change following an earlier period when only center parts were allowed. A well known revival speaker back then declared, “If I have but 2 hairs remaining on my head, I will part them in the middle.”

    To begin to guess the time period, I would have to know where this love feast was held. Certain conferences were more conservative than others. To hazard a guess, I would say the l940’s.

    The variety of food dishes suggests a potluck style that diverges from the love feasts I heard my parents and grandparents describe. They talked of a simple fare of two or three things, with rivel soup being the main dish.

    I am thankful that my home congregation, Harrisburg BIC Church, holds a yearly love feast a few days before Easter. We have a very simple prepared meal, followed by communion, and then footwashing. It is well attended, and many of the participants are not from traditional BIC background.

  3. Elaine Reed says:

    While looking through some old papers from my grandparents, I saw this picture in a news article dated June 4, 1950. It was about the Kentucky Mission Field and Elam Dohner was the Superintendent at that time. My mother liked to read books by Janice Holt Giles such as
    THE ENDURING HILLS, and some of them were set here. Mrs. Giles is also pictured in another picture in this article. It is an interesting news story with lots of pictures. I have more info. if anyone is interested.

Leave a Reply

