BIC101: First Day of Class!

My view for the next three weeks

My view for the next three weeks

By the time you read this post, I’ll be halfway through my first day of “Brethren in Christ Life and Thought,” the three-week intensive course on Brethren in Christ history and theology that I’m teaching at Messiah College this January.

Today, we’re doing the typical first day of class things: introducing ourselves, reviewing the syllabus, and orienting ourselves to the course. I’m also giving a quick (I hope!) overview of the disciplines of theology and church history, and a quick overview of the Brethren in Christ Church.

We’re also going to be reading John Zercher’s article “The Brethren in Christ Accent” (from E. Morris Sider’s edited book, Reflections on a Heritage) as a way of getting a cursory overview of Brethren in Christ ideas about universal Christian concepts like conversion, sanctification, the church, and others.

Now that I say it out loud, that’s a lot to get done in one three-hour period! Here’s hoping I have enough time to get through it all.

I’m teaching the class in the Brethren in Christ Historical Library and Archives (as you can see in the above photo, taken from my perch behind a preaching pulpit donated to the archives from the Mechanicsburg Brethren in Christ Church). I’m hoping that holding the class in the Archives will give us the chance to do some hands-on work with Brethren in Christ artifacts and documents, such as the many photos housed in the collection.

I’ll report in later (probably over the weekend) with some updates on the first week. Stay tuned!

About Devin Manzullo-Thomas

Writer, editor, historian, blogger
This entry was posted in BIC101 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to BIC101: First Day of Class!

  1. Pingback: BIC101: Ending on a Positive Note (Literally, and Figuratively) | The Search for Piety and Obedience

Leave a Reply

